Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

5 Axis Shapeoko controlled by MASSO

5 axis learning…
Hi mates how are you guys today, after drawing what it seems to be 4th and 5th axis for my Shapeoko, i started the journey of understanding how to set up the machine in fusion 360 and where WCS needs to be located, also learned how to enable 5 axis post for my MASSO controller, scary stuff the first time you see all of it but i think i may be on the money.
It happens that first you set up a new machine on Fusion and create the new rotary axis… in my case A and C, where A is A on Masso and C is B on MASSO…
Then set the post processor to enable 5 axis and then… How do i program Fusion 360 to Machine the faces that are not on the Z axis???
After watching videos i found a tab called Tool orientation, where you define z axis for the tool, and guess what? Fusion takes care of the machine motion and positions the part on the right direction… cool stuff…

i am still learning about tool warping and Swarf, but this looks promising, i downloaded a 5 axis machine simulator and loaded the code and IT WORKS!!!

On the image you can see my design with a simple cubed part on top… it happens that you need the Stock holder or whatever is there modeled in orde to define a fixure so Fusion knows what is happening, and then, WHERE DO I REFERENCE THIS ON THE MACHINE…???
I hope not to be wrong, but in my case it seems i have to refference the WCS on the spot where both rotation axis intersect, that is where i will set my work piece 0,0,0 and 0,0 :slight_smile:
Another thing, my A axis movement ranges from -90 to 90 deg and the C axis rotates full 360…

My head sort of hurts from understanding all of this in one go… i hope this info is usefull for someone…

On the image you can see my Part installed on the “fixure” (my designed 4 5 axis thing)… and the post processor output…